Monthly Archives: January 2020

Save the Date! Join Us at Our Public Meeting January 30

Census Bureau, Board of Health Officials, and Downtown Revitalization Committee to be Guests at Citizens for Milford’s Public Meeting  at Town Library. All Milford Residents Invited to Attend.

Citizens for Milford invites all residents to attend our first public meeting of the new year on Thursday, January 30 at 7:00 p.m. in the Milford Town Library. A representative from the Census Bureau, as well as Milford Board of Health officials and members of the Milford Downtown Revitalization committee, will be our special guests.

Elie Boutros, a Partnership Specialist with the Census Bureau, will be the first speaker on the agenda, giving a ten-minute presentation regarding the 2020 census. This presentation will be followed by Dr. Jacquelyn Murphy, who took over the reins as Milford’s new Health Officer this past fall. Dr. Murphy will present information about all the services the Board of Health offers the community. Lastly, Ron Pagnini, Chairman of the Milford Downtown Revitalization committee, will share news of their efforts to improve the downtown corridor.

Citizens for Milford Chairman Steve Trettel and Vice Chairman Beverly Swymer will invite attendees to ask questions following each of the three presentations.

“Citizens for Milford organizes a casual public meeting every January with the goal of providing direct access to our public officials. Because the success of our public institutions and committees is critical to all members of our community, we invite all residents to join us on January 30th to learn more about what is happening in Milford and to ask questions of importance to you,” says Chairman Steve Trettel.

The Milford Town Library is located at 80 Spruce Street. The meeting will be held in the library’s Granite and Quarry rooms on the lower level. Limited parking is available at the library. Additional parking is available on Spruce Street and at nearby Stacy Middle School.

Planning to Run for Office This Year?

Milford’s Town Election Will be Held Tuesday, April 7. Nomination Papers Available Monday, January 6

 Milford, Massachusetts residents interested in running for Town office can pick up nomination papers beginning Monday, January 6 at 8:30 a.m. in the Town Clerk’s Office.


All interested candidates (including any incumbent candidates) are required to be registered voters in the Town of Milford. The same applies for candidates interested in any Town Meeting Member positions.


To be placed on the ballot, each candidate must return his or her nomiation papers with a minimum number of signatures:
  • To run for a particular office (such as Selectmen or Board of Library Trustees), you are required to obtain at least 50 valid signatures from registered voters in any precinct in the Town of Milford.
  • To run for Town Meeting, you are required to obtain at least 30 valid signatures of voters WITHIN YOUR OWN PRECINCT.

Citizens for Milford recommends that candidates try to obtain MORE signatures than required, just in case some of the signatures cannot be verified.

The following offices are on the April 7, 2020 ballot. Names of the incumbents eligible for re-election are included. 
William D. Buckley, Selectman (3 year term)
Amy E. Hennessy Neves, Town Clerk (3 year term)
Scott J. Crisafulli, Highway Surveyor (3 year term)
Joseph F. Niro, Board of Assessor (3 year term)
Leonard A. Izzo Sr., Board of Health (3 year term)
Edward Bertorelli, Library Trustee (3 year term)
Joseph P. Arcudi, Park Commissioner (3 year term)
Marble M. Mainini III, Planning Board (5 year term)
Thomas J. Morelli, Sewer Commissioner (3 year term)
Michael J. Noferi, Town Moderator (3 year term)
Jennifer Parson, School Committee (3 year term)
Joseph E. Callery, School Committee (3 year term)
Michael A. Diorio, Housing Authority (5 year term)
Henry M. Shahnamian, Trustee of Vernon Grove Cemetery (3 year term)
Jamie Luchini, Trustee of Vernon Grove Cemetery (3 year term)
Charles E. Reneau, Tree Warden/Gypsy Moth Superintendent (3 year term)
(1) 4 year seat, Housing Authority and (1) 3 year term seat for Library Trustee
Town Meeting Members, Precincts 1-8 (Various terms)


Please contact the Town Clerk’s office at (508) 634-2307.